About Us – Staff & Board

CHEYENNE BOTANIC GARDENS STAFF:

Director: Shane Smith, shane@botanic.org
Assistant Director: Tina Worthman, tina@botanic.org 
Paul Smith Children’s Village Manager:
Aaron Sommers, aaron@botanic.org
Exterior Horticulturist: Jacob Mares, jacob@botanic.org
Volunteer Coordinator: Amy Gorbey, amy@botanic.org
Assistant Education Coordinator: Nettie Eakes, nettie@botanic.org
Interior Horticulturist: Emily Fowler, emily@botanic.org
Interior Operations Coordinator: Eric Roadifer, eric@botanic.org
Event Coordinator: Amelia Bales, amelia@botanic.org
Sales & Gift Shop: kristin@botanic.org
Office Manager: Trudy Fox, trudy@botanic.org


Why such a small staff?

Most public gardens this size and scope would have an average of 20 plus full-time staff. The Cheyenne Botanic Gardens operates with a minimal staff, thanks in-part to its extensive use of community volunteers (primarily seniors, youth and handicapped individuals).

We do have internship opportunities each summer for individuals studying botany, horticulture, agriculture, horticultural therapy, or therapeutic sciences. Please contact Nettie Eakes above.

FRIENDS OF THE CHEYENNE BOTANIC GARDENS BOARD

Governance and Management

The Cheyenne Botanic Gardens is a division of the City of Cheyenne’s Department of Community Recreation and Events.

cheyenne-logoSS2The non-profit Friends of the Cheyenne Botanic Gardens Foundation provides major funding for landscape planning and construction, staff education and volunteer support along with advocacy. It works to form a public/private partnership that enables the Gardens to do more with less and functions as an advocate for the Cheyenne Botanic Gardens. In addition, the Friends of the Cheyenne Botanic Gardens owns and operates this web site.

Click here to view mission and statistics of the Cheyenne Botanic Gardens.